PhysTEC Logo

2023 PhysTEC Conference

2023 PhysTEC Conference

March 3-5, 2023, in Las Vegas, NV, at Caesars Forum Convention Center

Ready to Join Us for the Event?

Register Now

Enhance Your Institution’s Physics Teacher Education Program

Las Vegas

Join us for the nation's largest meeting dedicated to the education of future physics teachers, held March 3-4, 2023 in Las Vegas, Nevada. The meeting will also include on-demand content, virtual watch parties, and discussions.

PhysTEC Conference 2023 will feature workshops on programmatic best practices and departmental problem-solving, discussions on current issues relevant to the physics teacher educator community, and networking opportunities.

The conference will include events to benefit both new and returning participants. Attendees may register for hybrid attendance, which includes the in-person meeting and virtual events, or they may register only for the virtual events:

  • February 25, 2023: Teacher Needs, Teacher Expertise
  • March 4-18, 2023: Watch parties, discussions, and Q&A sessions accompanying video-on-demand session recordings
  • March 18, 2023: Action Planning: Take the Lessons Home

Registration for the PhysTEC Conference closes Friday, February 17, at 5:00 p.m. ET.

Poster Session

Interested in presenting a poster on your programs, best practices, or new research in physics education at the open poster session? Submit a poster abstract!

If your abstract is accepted, you will receive an email with instructions for presenting your poster.

Poster Session Deadlines

  • Poster abstract submissions close February 3, 2023
  • PDF poster files are due to PhysTEC on February 22, 2023
  • The poster session is in Las Vegas from 4:30-6:00 p.m. PST on Friday, March 3, 2023

Poster Guidelines

  • Be sure to select "Poster" when submitting your abstract in the APS system
  • Plan your poster to be in a logical sequence
  • Your poster must correspond to the title and content of the abstract you submitted
  • Your poster must be no more than 4' tall x 3' wide and consist of materials that can be mounted easily with push pins
  • Posters should be designed for clear viewing from a distance of beyond 3' for ease of viewing by many people (a guide can be found here)
  • We recommend the word count on your poster be under 500 words
  • Ensure that National Science Foundation (NSF) funding attribution is indicated where appropriate
  • Put your poster up at least 15 minutes prior to the start of the poster session

Policy for Minority Serving Institute Conference Grants

Available for attending the PhysTEC Annual Conference

Minority Serving Institute (MSI) Conference Grants are awarded as registration waivers and travel reimbursement.

Application Requirements

Please email PhysTEC with the following information:

  • Name
  • University
  • MSI Status
  • PhysTEC membership status
  • Description of what you would gain from attending the conference

Eligibility

An institution is considered an MSI if a specific minoritized group constitutes at least 25% of the total undergraduate enrollment. Lists are available on the Department of Education and Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities websites.

Additionally, to be an eligible recipient for these grants, a recipient must be from a PhysTEC Coalition member institution. Non-member institutions may apply to join the Coalition.

The following are ineligible for these awards:

  • PhysTEC sites that are currently funded.
  • Students and high school teachers are not eligible. These awards are intended to support faculty who work in or are interested in physics teacher education.

Award Components

Registration Waivers

Each award includes use of up to five registration waivers, which will be disbursed as a coupon code sent to the awardees’ email addresses.

Travel Reimbursement

Each award amount is up to $1000, which may be split between faculty members at an institution.

Reimbursements must be submitted to PhysTEC via email using the form provided to award recipients. Please submit the reimbursement request by downloading and using this form as soon as possible after the conference. They must be submitted no later than 30 days after travel concludes.

Additionally, recipients must abide by the following requirements:

  • Recipients are expected to stay in one of the conference hotels.
  • Allowable expenses include airfare, transportation, hotel, and per diem meals that occur during travel and are not otherwise provided.
  • Receipts must be included for all expenses.
  • The mileage reimbursement is $0.625/mile.
  • After the conference, submit a brief summary of what they learned at the conference to PhysTEC.

Schedule

Online Events

Pre-Conference: Saturday, Feb. 25, 2023

  • Physics Teacher Panel: 9:00 - 10:00 a.m (PT), 12:00 - 1:00 p.m (ET)
  • Discussion Session (Recording available): 10:00 - 10:30 a.m (PT), 1:00 - 1:30 p.m (ET)
  • Rewatch session: 1:00 - 2:00 p.m (PT), 4:00 - 5:00 p.m (ET)
  • Discussion Session: 2:00 - 2:30 p.m (PT), 5:00 - 5:30 p.m (ET)

Live-Streamed Watch Parties: 4:00 p.m (PT), 7:00 p.m (ET).

  • March 10: Institutional Support
  • March 13: EDI & PTE
  • March 14: Teacher Mentoring
  • March 15: Recruitment
  • March 16: General PTE
  • March 17: TBD

Online Post-Conference: Saturday, March 18, 2023

  • Action Planning Sessions
    • 9:00 a.m (PT), 12:00 p.m. (ET)
    • 11:00 a.m (PT), 2:00 p.m. (ET)
    • 1:00 p.m (PT), 4:00 p.m. (ET)

In-Person Events

Thursday, March 2

  • Registration: 3:00 - 5:30 p.m (PT), 6:00 - 8:30 p.m (ET)

Friday, March 3, 2023
TimeSession Details
7:30 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. PST

Registration

8:00 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. PST

Open Plenary

9:45 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. PST

Transition

10:00 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. PST

Session 1A, 1B, 1C

11:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. PST

Networking Break

11:45 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. PST

Session 2A, 2B, 2C

1:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. PST

Transition

1:15 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. PST

Lunch

2:45 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. PST

Transition

3:00 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. PST

Session 3A, 3B, 3CC

4:15 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. PST

Transition

4:30 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. PST

Poster Session

6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. PST

Networking Dinner

Speakers

Travel Info

Dates and Location

March 3, 2023 - March 4, 2023

Caesars Forum Convention Center
Las Vegas, NV

Hotel

Harrah's Hotel Las Vegas is the headquarters hotel and is a half mile from Caesars Forum Convention Center.

APS has also secured rooms at The LINQ Hotel + Experience and the Flamingo Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, both of which are less than a half mile from Caesars Forum Convention Center.

Book Your Room Now

Sign Up to Stay Informed

You’ll get PhysTalk, our monthly newsletter, and other occasional updates from PhysTEC.

Sign Up